Archive for the ‘ Dailies ’ Category

2015 Dodger Schedule. Where will it take me?

The Dodger schedule came out September 8 and I went over it making plans already but I like to have it here in my blog handy for quick reference.   God willing I will continue to go to Spring Training, my usual road trips to San Diego and the annual SABR convention.  This year’s SABR convention is in Chicago and it starts as the Dodgers play in Chicago on Getaway day.  I am working on where else 2015 will take me.

Here is is the preliminary schedule that MLB  released on September 8, 2014:

2015 schedule months

APRIL

April 6 Monday SD

April 7 Tuesday SD

April 8 Wednesday SD

April 10 Friday @ ARI

April 11 Saturday @ ARI

April 12 Sunday @ ARI

April 13 Monday SEA

April 14 Tuesday SEA

April 15 Wednesday SEA

April 17 Friday COL

April 18 Saturday COL

April 19 Sunday COL

April 21 Tuesday @ SF

April 22 Wednesday @ SF

April 23 Thursday @ SF

April 24 Friday @ SD

April 25 Saturday @ SD

April 26 Sunday @ SD

April 27 Monday SF

April 28 Tuesday SF

April 29 Wednesday SF

MAY

May 1 Friday ARI

May 2 Saturday ARI

May 3 Sunday ARI

May 4 Monday @ MIL

May 5 Tuesday @ MIL

May 6 Wednesday @ MIL

May 7 Thursday @ MIL

May 8 Friday @ COL

May 9 Saturday @ COL

May 10 Sunday @ COL

May 11 Monday MIA

May 12 Tuesday MIA

May 13 Wednesday MIA

May 14 Thursday COL

May 15 Friday COL

May 16 Saturday COL

May 17 Sunday COL

May 19 Tuesday @ SF

May 20 Wednesday @ SF

May 21 Thursday @ SF

May 22 Friday SD

May 23 Saturday SD

May 24 Sunday SD

May 25 Monday ATL

May 26 Tuesday ATL

May 27 Wednesday ATL

May 29 Friday @ STL

May 30 Saturday @ STL

May 31 Sunday @ STL

JUNE

June 1 Monday @ COL

June 2 Tuesday @ COL

June 3 Wednesday @ COL

June 4 Thursday STL

June 5 Friday STL

June 6 Saturday STL

June 7 Sunday STL

June 8 Monday ARI

June 9 Tuesday ARI

June 10 Wednesday ARI

June 12 Friday @ SD

June 13 Saturday @ SD

June 14 Sunday @ SD

June 15 Monday @ TEX

June 16 Tuesday @ TEX

June 17 Wednesday TEX

June 18 Thursday TEX

June 19 Friday SF

June 20 Saturday SF

June 21 Sunday SF

June 22 Monday @ CHC

June 23 Tuesday @ CHC

June 24 Wednesday @ CHC

June 25 Thursday @ CHC

June 26 Friday @ MIA

June 27 Saturday @ MIA

June 28 Sunday @ MIA

June 29 Monday @ ARI

June 30 Tuesday @ ARI

JULY

July 1 Wednesday @ ARI

July 3 Friday NYM

July 4 Saturday NYM

July 5 Sunday NYM

July 6 Monday PHI

July 7 Tuesday PHI

July 8 Wednesday PHI

July 9 Thursday PHI

July 10 Friday MIL

July 11 Saturday MIL

July 12 Sunday MIL

July 14 Tuesday ASG @ CIN

July 17 Friday @ WSH

July 18 Saturday @ WSH

July 19 Sunday @ WSH

July 20 Monday @ ATL

July 21 Tuesday @ ATL

July 22 Wednesday @ ATL

July 23 Thursday @ NYM

July 24 Friday @ NYM

July 25 Saturday @ NYM

July 26 Sunday @ NYM

July 28 Tuesday OAK

July 29 Wednesday OAK

July 31 Friday LAA

AUGUST

August 1 Saturday LAA

August 2 Sunday LAA

August 4 Tuesday @ PHI

August 5 Wednesday @ PHI

August 6 Thursday @ PHI

August 7 Friday @ PIT

August 8 Saturday @ PIT

August 9 Sunday @ PIT

August 10 Monday WSH

August 11 Tuesday WSH

August 12 Wednesday WSH

August 13 Thursday CIN

August 14 Friday CIN

August 15 Saturday CIN

August 16 Sunday CIN

August 18 Tuesday @ OAK

August 19 Wednesday @ OAK

August 21 Friday @ HOU

August 22 Saturday @ HOU

August 23 Sunday @ HOU

August 25 Tuesday @ CIN

August 26 Wednesday @ CIN

August 27 Thursday @ CIN

August 28 Friday CHC

August 29 Saturday CHC

August 30 Sunday CHC

August 31 Monday SF

SEPTEMBER

Sept. 1 Tuesday SF

Sept. 2 Wednesday SF

Sept. 3 Thursday @ SD

Sept. 4 Friday @ SD

Sept. 5 Saturday @ SD

Sept. 6 Sunday @ SD

Sept. 7 Monday @ LAA

Sept. 8 Tuesday @ LAA

Sept. 9 Wednesday @ LAA

Sept. 11 Friday @ ARI

Sept. 12 Saturday @ ARI

Sept. 13 Sunday @ ARI

Sept. 14 Monday COL

Sept. 15 Tuesday COL

Sept. 16 Wednesday COL

Sept. 18 Friday PIT

Sept. 19 Saturday PIT

Sept. 20 Sunday PIT

Sept. 21 Monday ARI

Sept. 22 Tuesday ARI

Sept. 23 Wednesday ARI

Sept. 24 Thursday ARI

Sept. 25 Friday @ COL

Sept. 26 Saturday @ COL

Sept. 27 Sunday @ COL

Sept. 28 Monday @ SF

Sept. 29 Tuesday @ SF

Sept. 30 Wednesday @ SF

OCTOBER

Oct. 1 Thursday @ SF

Oct. 2 Friday SD

Oct. 3 Saturday SD

Oct. 4 Sunday SD

After the Dodgers got eliminated by the Cardinals

After the Dodgers got eliminated by the Cardinals, I was feeling very down.   I had driven to work because I was planning attending the Baseball Reliquary event at the Burbank Library  “Dock Ellis and the Swinging 70’s.”    I drove feeling depressed and not sure if I wanted to be around people but I drove there getting there just before the event started.

From left to right, Baseball Reliquary Executive director, Terry Cannon with the panel of speakers of Jeffrey Radice, co-producer and director of “No No: A Dockumentary”; historian and journalist Dan Epstein; and former big leaguer Jim “Mudcat” Grant.

I am so glad I went!   I could have listen to these speakers for hours, especially Jim Mudcat Grant   Mr. Grant has a bank of stories to tell and he tells them with such charm.   I was glad to go out to dinner afterwards because I ended up hearing more stories from Mr. Grant.   He was telling me about his brother Julian playing in Monterey, Mexico and how everyone used to call him “Julio.”   One time they got into a taxi, he was sitting in the front and his brother in the back.  The taxi driver asked him “Are you Julio?”   He said no, and pointed to his brother and the back.  The taxi driver was driving with the windows open yelling to people “Hey, this is Julio!”

Mudcat told me about an exhibition games in the south, They had landed in New Orleans, where blacks were not permitted in the airport lobby or to wait for cabs alongside whites.  They had to wait on a grassy hill to wait until a black cab would arrive. The luggage would invariably be brought to the white hotel.   The black players would get to the homes where they could stay.  They would draw straws on who would go to the white hotel to retrive their luggage.   In once such incident, the Indians were playing the Boston Red Sox in New Orleans  and Mudcat’s straw had come out short.   When Grant went to retrieve the luggage, he was stopped by a hotel baggage handler who refused to allow him into the hotel. He told him that blacks had no business entering. While discussing the situation with him, Grant saw Ted Williams entering the lobby. Williams walked over to Grant and asked what was happening.

“Well, you know we cannot stay at this hotel,” said Grant.

“I know. It’s a terrible shame,” said Williams. ”This man will not let me come in to get my bags that were sent here,” said Mudcat.

Williams replied, “He’s right. You shouldn’t be going in to get those bags. He should get them and bring them out to you!”

Another of his stories was when he was in Cuba.   He was in a car with Tommy Lasorda and another black players.   The police stopped him and Tommy told them “Let me do the talking.”   Well, Mudcat said that they ended up in jail!   They jumped on Tommy in jail and asked him “What did you tell them??”

Here are pictures from the event:

Mudcat signed my baseball. Loved the hat he was wearing!

Part of the Baseball Reliquary exhibition at the Burbank Library

part of the pictures Mudcat was showing us.  In the picture Mudcat, Larry Doby and Satchel Paige.

Turning the page on the first NLDS game. Let’s win game 2! Let’s Go Dodgers.

imageimage

Rachel with her Uribe shirt & cookies she made with her sister and mom.

It was as a painful game, well a painful 7th inning.  Jaime Jarrin likes to say “Lucky seven”. It was not lucky for the Dodgers.

So let’s turn the page and get the second game.

LETS GO DODGERS!! LETS GO!!  LETS GO GREINKE!!

Weekly Photo Challenge: Humanity

This week’s Photo Challenge is Humanity.   http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_photo_challenge/humanity/

We are asked to share a photo.

Photos that comes to mind is when I went to Hiccups Payaso’s monthly Pizza Project to feed the Homeless in Lols Angeles  Skid Row area. The exact location is 6th and Gladys.  Visit Hiccups Payaso facebook page for more information.

Here is a picture of a homeless woman

Hiccups Payaso's photo.

We don’t aks but you wonder what is her story.  Here she is with her slice of pizza and other goodies that are brought by voluntees like bottle of water, a cup cake and anything else that Hiccups is collecting for the month.

Here is another picture at another Pizza project.  Here she is with Hiccups.

Yes, Hiccups is a Dodger fan. Many Dodger fans volunteer at the monthly pizza projects and we wear our Blue, Dodger Blue.

Shootout at the SF Corral. Dodgers Giant Series

Dodgers with a two game lead in the National League West, are in San Francisco!! image

image

Shootout at the SF Corral!  Wish I   Was  there! But I will watch the games at Home. I cant wait!

Dodgers Giants games!  It does not  get any better than that this weekend!

Friday:  Ryu 14-6 3.16 ERA goes against Bumgarner 17-9 3.02 ERA.

Saturday:  Greinke 14-8 2.73 against Hudson 9-10  3.12

Sunday: Cy Young Clayton Kershaw 18.3 1.67 ERA against Petit 5.3  3.62 ERA

It is going to he a wild ride!!

K

Game Tankas 09/02/14 Dodgers 4, Nationals 1

I have done haikus in the past but did not know about Tankas.  Haikus are a three-line poem of 5/7/5 syllables.   Tankas have two additional lines of 7 syllables so they are 5/7/5/7/7.   I was reading the WordPress Monday writing challenge for this week to write a tanka or a set of tankas https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_writing_challenge/full-tanka/

Here it is what I came up with during Clayton Kershaw masterpiece performance yesterday at Dodger Dodger Stadium.
WASHINGTON NATIONALS AT LOS ANGELES DODGERS

Kershaw on the mound
Pederson playing center
Good omen this night
First Major League hit for Joc
A single in the second!

WASHINGTON NATIONALS AT LOS ANGELES DODGERS

The crowd is roaring
Kershaw wheeling and dealing
Cy Young performance
reached 200 K’s tonight
5th straight time in his career

Kershaw can hit too
With a single in the fifth
Daring base running
after a single by Dee
broke open the scoreless game

WASHINGTON NATIONALS AT LOS ANGELES DODGERS

Home-run Uribe!
With Crawford on base Woo-Hoo!
score four to zero
but in the fifth Bryce homered
Only run Kershaw allowed

Kershaw 8 innings
3 hits, 1 earned run allowed
2 walks, 8 strikeouts
Kershaw wins his 17
ERA 1.7

 

pictures by Jon SooHoo

7/1/14-Someone Awesome-Photo Tribute to Bobby Castillo-Photography by Jon SooHoo,Juan Ocampo and Larry Goren/LA Dodgers

crzblue:

Wonderful photo tribute by Jon SooHoo, Juan & Larry. Sniff. Rest in peace Babo.

Originally posted on Dodgers Photog Blog:

01

Yesterday the Los Angeles Dodgers mourned the loss of one of their favorites…Bobby Castillo..Here is my photo tribute to Bobby from all of the many events we did together. Rest in Peace my friend…

LOS ANGELES DODGERS VS COLORADO ROCKIES 2012LOS ANGELES DODGERS VS COLORADO ROCKIES Throwing out the first pitch in 2012LOS ANGELES DODGERS VS COLORADO ROCKIES w/ KTDODGERS HAM GIVEAWAY Fighting the elements to hand out hams to local familiesDODGERS HAM GIVEAWAY with Tommy and Matt LukeLOS ANGELES DODGERS HAM GIVEAWAY w/ Rudy Law and pumpkin pieDODGERS CARAVAN TO BOYS AND GIRLS CLUB OF LOS ANGELES at Boys and Girls Club near the ballpark in 201009 on Dodgers Caravan in 201210 breaking bread at the Urban Youth Academy in Compton in early 201211 helping out Habitat for Humanity with Fernando12Los Angeles Dodgers Caravan-Day One-River Clean-up getting in deep cleaning and the LA River in 2011Los Angeles Dodgers Caravan-Day One-River Clean-upLos Angeles Dodgers Caravan-Day One-LACER at my middle school Thomas Star King Jr High in 2011Los Angeles Dodgers Caravan-Day One-LACERDodgers Dream Foundation Charity Golf Invitational and of course golfing at the Dodgers Golf Tournament at Trump National in Palos Verdes in 2011Dodgers Dream Foundation Charity Golf InvitationalDodgers Dream Foundation Charity Golf InvitationalMANNY MOTA GOLF TOURNAMENT w/ KT and Manny At Manny Mota’s golf tournament in 2006MANNY MOTA GOLF TOURNAMENT w/Maury Wills…

View original 81 more words

Dodger Homestand with the Cardinals

Josh Beckett and Adam Wainwright put on a show last night here at Chavez Ravine.

Brian Wilson on his Bobblehead night picked up his first win and Kenley Jensen picking up his 24th save.  Final score 1-0.

Image

Second game Hyun-jin Ryu against Carlos Martinez who got his first hit  tonight

Image

Currently Dodgers losing the game 3-1 at the bottom of the 5th, but In the meantime the Giants are losing 5-0 against the Reds with Cueto against Bumgarner going to the 6th

Let me get back to the game

Image

go Dodgers!!  Orale!!!!

 

Baseball Players are Soccer Fans Too

I love this! Alanna Rizzo tweeted this:

Then Yasiel Puig posted this on IG:
PUIG Y ADRIAN SOCCER

I love these two guys!

On Saturday  when we saw Yasiel Puig as he was going one way and us another, I called his name, Yasiel turned around and recognized me.  He came over to give me a hug then I told him this time Rosie was with us (If you read the post from Viva Los Dodgers he asked “where is the 3rd one?” :-)) .  He said he looked for us.  he then asked us if we had eaten _We had just had a big breakfast so we told him we did and that we were on our way to a church. He said “I can’t pray on an empty stomach” lol.

Yesterday after the game we went to say goodbye to the players as they boarded the bus that took them to the airport.  Some fans got Adrian’s attention that they had a Mexican flag in support of Mexico playing on Monday in the World Cup.  Adrian opened his backpack showing us that he was carrying his Mexico jersey.

 

Mexico won 3-1.  Now Boys in Blue go take care of the Royals!

Greinke on the mound against Guthrie at Kauffman Stadium.

Video: A Reagan Forum with Vin Scully

 

We had a wonderful time at the Ronald Reagan Presidential library.  I met up at the library with Lorena, Rosie, George, Anglia and Shelly.  It was an enchanted evening.  We did not get to see the baseball exhibition as there was a very long line.   But It was a good thing we went into the auditorium early to look for seats.  There were quite a lot of rows of seats reserved and the place was already filling up when Lore and I got there about an hour and half before Vin was scheduled to talk.

I was glad to see Peter O’Malley and his sister Terry in attendance.  Peter got a huge applause when he was introduced.  Of course, Vinny got a louder ovation:

Photo: So so excited! I <3 Vin Scully!!!

Here is the video I found on Youtube.  I did get to ask Vin a question.  Thanks Anglia for helping me get John’s attention.

 

 

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 907 other followers